Fisheries and Oceans Canada | Pêches et Océans Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aids to Navigation

Illustration - Aids to Navigation

Did you know that the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans is mandated, though not obligated, to provide aids to navigation? It is up to the Aids to Navigation program to provide fixed, floating and electronic aids in order to ensure the safety of mariners, and to promote and facilitate the expeditious movement of maritime traffic. Aids to navigation are established in duly charted Canadian waters when justified by the volume of traffic and rate of threats.

The provision of information on the conditions of aids to navigation is assured through Notices to Shipping and Notices to Mariners.

For a secure navigation

For people less familiar with the services provided by the Canadian Coast Guard, aids to navigation are devices or systems, external to a vessel, that are provided to assist mariners determine their position and course, to warn them of dangers or obstructions, or to advise them of the location of the best or preferred route.

For proper understanding and interpretation of their function, aids to navigation are to be used in conjunction with available marine publications, including nautical charts, the List of Lights, Buoys and Fog Signals , the Radio Aids to Marine Navigation handbook and Sailing Directions.

We wish to emphasize that mariners are requested to immediately report any failure of a marine aid to navigation to the nearest Coast Guard Office or to a Coast Guard Marine Communications and Traffic Services centre.

For any question or additional information on Aids to navigation, consult The Canadian Aids to Navigation System or visit the Canadian Coast Guard 's national website.

Aides à la navigation

Illustration -  Aides à la navigation

Saviez-vous que le ministère des Pêches et Océans a le mandat mais pas l'obligation de fournir des aides à la navigation? C'est au programme des Aides à la navigation de la Garde côtière canadienne que revient la mission de fournir des aides fixes, flottantes et électroniques dans les eaux canadiennes dûment cartographiées lorsque la densité du trafic et le degré de risques les justifient.

Au moyen des Avis à la navigation et des Avis aux navigateurs, il fournit également de l’information se rapportant à l’état des aides à la navigation.

Pour une navigation sécuritaire

Pour les moins familiers avec les services de la Garde côtière canadienne, les aides à la navigation sont un ensemble de marques ou de dispositifs extérieurs aux navires, mis en place pour aider le navigateur à déterminer sa position et son cap, pour l'avertir de la présence de dangers ou d'obstacles, ou pour lui indiquer le meilleur trajet ou le trajet préféré.

Il importe d’utiliser les aides à la navigation de concert avec les publications maritimes, notamment les cartes marines, le Livre des feux, des bouées et des signaux de brume, les Aides radio à la navigation maritime et les Instructions nautiques afin de bien en comprendre et en interpréter les fonctions.

Nous rappelons que les navigateurs sont priés de signaler immédiatement toute panne des aides à la navigation au bureau de la Garde côtière le plus près ou à un centre des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes de la Garde côtière.

Pour tout renseignement supplémentaire sur les Aides à la navigation, consultez le Système canadien d’aides à la navigation ou visitez le site national de la Garde côtière canadienne.