Navigation Officer

Testimonial

I started my career as a deckhand. Later on, I was promoted to helms man, then winch operator, and finally, boatswain. Today, I am Chief Navigation Officer and I am still thrilled by my work which is anything but routine. Very few people can say that they have a splendid Arctic landscape as office window.

What is a Navigation Officer?

The Commanding Officer has full responsibility of the vessel, while Navigation Officers are responsible for the safe navigation of the ship. It is their responsibility to keep the Commanding Officer informed of all events that might impact the vessel's mission, and the vessel's or crew safety.

Officers responsibilities vary depending on the rank.

Navigation Officers must know how to pilot a ship in order to ensure safe transits in sometimes restricted or ice covered waters, no matter what kind of weather or visibility prevails. They must have good navigation technics and a good knowledge of navigational equipment operation such as radar, electronic charts, gyrocompas, etc. They execute the route planning as per the Commanding Officer's directions. They plot and follow the routes on charts, verify the available water depths, as well as ice charts, and do the radio communications.

They supervise the activities of the weelhouse crew. On the other hand, the Chief Officer is responsible for all cargo handling by the ship's installations or by helicopter, including the storing of merchandises, properly secure equipments, charges distribution and calculation of the ship's stability. He is also responsible for safety standards concerning the take-off or landing of helicopters on the ship. He directs the boatswain and deckhands.

The Chief Officer is responsible for the safety of the ship. He ensures proper operation and handling of firefighting systems and the familiarisation of the crew members.

Navigation Officers also participate in search and rescue operations and operate small crafts during resupplying operations.

Chief Officer

Paul Beauchamp
Chief Officer
CCGS Des Groseilliers

Navigation Officer

Paul Lefebvre
Navigation Officer
CCGS Des Groseilliers

Navigation Officers

What academic and professional development do I need?

  • Canadian Coast Guard College Study Program leading to a Nautical Science Degree and Officer Certification.
  • 4-year College Program with practical training in marine engineering. The candidate will access higher ranks by accumulating sea time and passing Transport Canada exams.
  • Certification may also be obtained by accumulating Engine Room Rating sea time, ongoing training and successful completion of Transport Canada exams.

Where can I study?

  • The CCG College is located in Sydney, Nova Scotia, offers a 4-year paid study program in navigation in both official languages. Upon successful completion of the program, the student obtains a Nautical Science Degree and a Watch Mate Certificate (3rd Mate). Then, the Officer is deployed on one of the CCG vessels. Higher ranks are accessed through experience at sea and successful completion of Transport Canada exams.
  • The Institut Maritime du Québec offers a 4-year study program in navigation after which students enter the labour market as 3rd Mate Higher ranks are accessed through experience at sea and successful completion of Transport Canada exams.

What are my career opportunities?

  • Navigation Officer (several ranks);
  • Captain / Commanding Officer;
  • Fleet Management;
  • Various positions within the Federal Public Service;
  • Various marine-related positions.

What qualities and interests are essential?

  • Strong interest for sciences and technological equipment;
  • Interest in working at sea;
  • Good concentration, communication and adaptation capabilities;
  • Good work organization and be able to set priorities;
  • Leadership and good jugement;
  • Team work capabilities;
  • To be able to work on irregular schedules and accept to go at sea for maximum periods of 42 days;
  • Taste for adventure and travel.

Average annual income: 52 000 $ à 74 000 $

Salary increases with ranks. Navigation Officers work a schedule called lay-day, or a period of 14 to 42 days at sea followed by equivalent time off with pay.

For more information

Officier de navigation

Témoignage

J'ai débuté ma carrière à la Garde côtière comme matelot. J'ai ensuite été promu timonier, puis treuilliste et ensuite maître d'équipage. Aujourd'hui, je suis chef-officier de navigation et je suis toujours passionné par mon emploi qui est tout sauf routinier. Qui peut se vanter d'avoir un paysage arctique à couper le souffle comme fenêtre de bureau?

Qu'est-ce qu'un officier de navigation?

Le commandant a l’entière responsabilité du navire, tandis que les officiers de navigation sont imputables à tout moment de la navigation sécuritaire du navire. Il est de leur responsabilité de tenir le commandant informé des événements qui ont une importance pour la mission du navire, pour sa sécurité ou pour celle de l’équipage.

Les responsabilités des officiers varient selon leur grade au sein de l’équipe de navigation.

Les officiers de navigation doivent connaître la façon de piloter afin que les transits s’effectuent de façon sécuritaire dans des eaux parfois restreintes ou recouvertes de glace, et ce, peu importe la météo et la visibilité. Ils doivent posséder de bonnes techniques de navigation et bien connaître le fonctionnement de tous les instruments de navigation qu’on retrouve à bord, tels que radar, carte électronique, gyrocompas, etc. Ce sont eux qui font le plan de route selon les directives du commandant.

Ils suivent le tracé sur les cartes, vérifient les profondeurs disponibles ainsi que les cartes de glaces et effectuent les communications radio. Ils supervisent les activités du personnel de la timonerie à la passerelle de navigation.

De son côté, le chef officier est responsable de toutes les opérations de manutention de la cargaison par les installations du navire ou par héliportage, ce qui comprend l’arrimage, l’entreposage des marchandises, la répartition des charges et les calculs de stabilité du navire ainsi que les mesures de sécurité lors d’envols d’hélicoptère. Il transige avec le maître d’équipage et les matelots de pont.

La sécurité du navire étant la responsabilité des Officiers de navigation, c’est à eux que reviennent les responsabilités des systèmes d’incendie ainsi que la familiarisation auprès des membres d’équipage.

Les officiers sont également appelés à participer aux missions de recherche et sauvetage et à manœuvrer les petites embarcations, par exemple lors d’opérations de ravitaillement.

Officier de navigation

Paul Beauchamp
Chef officier de navigation
NGCC Des Groseilliers

Officier de navigation

Paul Lefebvre
Officier de navigation
NGCC Des Groseilliers

Officiers de navigation

Quel cheminement scolaire ou professionnel dois-je suivre?

  • Programme d’études en navigation du Collège de la GCC menant au Baccalauréat en sciences nautiques et à l'obtention d'un brevet d'officier de navigation.
  • DEC en navigation d'un institut maritime approuvé menant à l'obtention d'un brevet d'officier.
  • On peut aussi accéder au grade d'officier de navigation en accumulant du temps de mer en tant que matelot de pont ou timonier puis en répondant aux exigences de formation et en complétant les examens de Transports Canada (TC).

Où puis-je étudier?

  • Le Collège de la GCC à Sydney en Nouvelle-écosse, offre un programme d’études rémunéré d’une durée de 4 années en navigation, et ce dans les deux langues officielles. à la réussite de cette formation, l’étudiant obtient un Baccalauréat en sciences nautiques et un certificat de lieutenant de quart (3e officier de pont). Par la suite, l’officier est déployé sur l’un des navires de la GCC. Les grades supérieurs seront acquis grâce à son expérience en mer et à la réussite d'examens requis par Transports Canada.
  • L'Institut maritime du Québec à Rimouski offre un DEC d'une durée de 4 ans en navigation. L'étudiant qui a complété le programme obtient, dès son entrée sur le marché du travail, le grade de lieutenant de quart (3e officier de pont). Il accèdera aux grades supérieurs grâce à son expérience en mer et la réussite d'examens requis par Transports Canada.

Quelles sont mes possibilités de carrière?

  • Officier de navigation (plusieurs grades);
  • Capitaine / commandant;
  • Gestion de la flotte;
  • Divers postes de gestion dans la Fonction publique fédérale;
  • Divers postes dans le domaine maritime.

Quels intérêts et qualités sont essentiels?

  • Intérêt marqué pour les sciences et les équipements technologiques;
  • Être attiré par le travail en mer;
  • Avoir une bonne capacité d'adaptation, de concentration et de communication;
  • Avoir un bon sens de l'organisation et des priorités;
  • Avoir du leadership et un bon jugement;
  • Avoir l'esprit d'équipe;
  • Être capable de travailler selon des horaires irréguliers et accepter de partir en mer durant des périodes maximales de 42 jours;
  • Évidemment, avoir le goût de l'aventure et des voyages.

Revenu annuel de base: 52 000 $ à 74 000 $

Il est à noter que le salaire augmente de façon significative à mesure que l'on accède aux grades supérieurs. Les officiers de navigation de la GCC travaillent suivant un horaire dit de jours de relâche, soit une période de 14 à 42 jours en mer, suivie d’une période de repos équivalente, sans perte de rémunération.

Pour en savoir plus